top of page

9th Edition of Chicago Indie Film Awards

Chicago Indie Film Awards continues to discover and promote indie film projects and artists from all over the globe. The festival committee announced the winners of the 9th edition of the online festival today. The festival focuses on indie artists and their dedication to the cinematic language. It is our pleasure to announce the winners.

Best Narrative Feature & Best Director :

The Ravine

Dir: Keoni Waxman

Honorable Mention Narrative Feature :


Dir: Harry Cleveno

Best Narrative Short:

Closed Heart

Dir: Gabriele Di Sazio

Best Documentary Feature :

Unearthing Ogawa

Dir: Steve Meixell

Best Documentary short:

Fashion victims

Dir: Alessandro Brasile

Best Experimental :

Ghost Dance for America, 1890

Dir: Karl Nussbaum

Best Animation :

The Hairy Notion of a Green Afternoon

Dir: Susanne Deeken

Best Science Fiction:

The Aspirant

Dir: Adam Orton

Best Horror :

Into the Dreams... and Horror Experiences

Dir: Taka Octz

Best Producer :


The Hijras we met : The 3rd Gender

Best Actress :

Simona Sciarabba

Closed Heart

Best Actor :

Ariel Semmel


Best Script :

Out of My Comfort Zone

Writer: Ivy Vale, Rick Reil

Best Unproduced script:

Sergeant Freeman

Writer: Gloria J. Browne-Marshall

Best TV Series/Pilot/Web:

Daddy Diaper Diaries

Dir: Edy Soto

Best Comedy:


Dir: Ashley Ephraim

Best Student Film:


Dir: Jer Ju Liao

Best Music Video:


Dir: Paul Boyd

Best Thriller:

Chapter Two Dir: Claudia Bento, Glenn Smith

Best Trailer:

Kissing Gaia Dir: Jerry Toth

Best Composer:

Joi Barua New World Order

Best First Time Filmmaker :

Get Out Alive

Dir: Roger Ellis

Best Female Filmmaker :

Katrina Nelson Red Sky

Best Indie :

39 1/2 Dir: Kara Herold

1 Comment

Ivy Vale
Ivy Vale
Aug 04, 2021

Thank you so much for recognizing our script Out of My Comfort Zone! We are honored to be a part of the Chicago Indie Film Awards and can't wait for you to see the film when it's finished.

bottom of page