top of page

17th edition of Chicago Indie Film Awards

The IMDb qualifying Chicago Indie Film Awards celebrates indie U.S. and international film and script projects through its annual and bi-monthly competition. The festival is looking for fiction, documentary, experimental, animation, comedy and all genres of filmmaking which can inspire us, challenge us and make us think.

Here are the winners of the 17th edition:

Best Narrative Feature

Into the Box

Nasim Naghavi- Amir Ganjavie

Best Narrative Short

Wasted Blind Director: Troy Burbank

Best Feature Documentary

The Vertical Border Director: Sonja Wolf

Best Short Documentary

Merk Director: Bernard Gray

Best Experimental

The skinning of the eel Director Christine Comeau

Best Animation

PERCEPTION Director: Brandon Frank Lopez

Best Sci/Fi

The Split Director: Dario Vero

Best Short Horror

The Dark Director: Randy Sage

Best Director One Man Band Director: Dekang Liu

Best Producer & Best Edit Falconer 2 The Untold Stories Director: Edwin E. Brochin Best Cinematography You Can't Be Here Director: Zachary A Pope Best Actress THE RIVER YOU STEP IN Astrid Van Wieren Best Actor Blueberry Andrew McIntyre Best Script SOUL'S ON FIRE Writer: Joseph Lincoln Harrison Best Web-Series Angel Dust Directors: Mark Hemstock, Chrystal Snow

Best Comedy Garage Sale Director: Troy Burbank

Best Student Film Althaea Director: Karim Shawky

Best Music Video JULIAN BROOKS - SNAKEBITE Directors: Tim Cash, Irie Adina Best Short Thriller Pros and Cons Director: Robert Vassie Best Composer Drown Without Water Rachel Walker Mason Best First Time Filmmaker & Best Indie Film You Never Know One Day You Too Might Become A Refugee Directors: Teo Nicholas Ormond Best Female Filmmaker Interpretive Dance Director: Anne Brashier


bottom of page