top of page

The Winners of Chicago Indie Film Awards

Chicago Indie Film Awards recently announced the winners of its latest monthly edition. The festival is growing into an important indie festival for all independent filmmakers from around the world. It is never an easy task being an indie filmmaker with an original cinematic voice. While the pandemic has made it more challenging for all filmmakers and film festivals, the Chicago Indie Film Awards is continuing its monthly program with the hopes of discovering and recognizing talented indie filmmakers. The annual festival selects its films from the monthly award winners.

Here is the full list of the winners:

Best Narrative Feature & Best Director


Directed by: Luis Ismael

Best Narrative Short & Best Produced Script


Directed by: Rami Kodeih

Written by: Nora Mariana Salim

Best Feature Documentary

The One and Only Jewish Miss America

Directed by: David Arond

Best Short Documentary

Hear Congo

Directed by: Jason Flakes

Honorable Mention Documentary

The hunt for sea's black gold

Directed by: Erik Akervall

Best Experimental

The New Mother

Directed by: Eleva Singleton

Best Animation


Directed by: Guodong Yu

Best Science Fiction

Forbidden Power

Directed by: Paul Kyriazi

Best Horror

The Eve

Directed by: Luca Machnich

Best Producer

Calf Rope

Produced by: Bradley Hawkins

Best Cinematography

Highland Home

Directors of Photography: John Waller & Ben Canales

Best Edit

Deep Inside

Best Actress

Alia Shawkat for Alina

Best Actor

Ng Siu-Hin for Leaving Virginia

Best Unproduced Script:

Life's A Pitch

Written by: Mason Cooper

Best Series

Mann Overboard

Directed by: Sam Cadman

Best Comedy

Fucking Idiots

Directed by: David Milchard

Best Student Film



Best Music Video

Love´s worst nightmare

Directed by: Philippe Funk

Best Thriller

Black Heart, Red Hands

Directed by: Russell Southam

Best Trailer

The Beast Rose Up!

Directed by: Moyche Litchtenstein

Best Composer


Composer: Emiliano Mazzenga

Best First Time Filmmaker


Directed by: Erik Borner

Honorable Mention First Feature


Directed by: Juliet Ellis

Best Female Filmmaker

Sonia Bible for The Witch of Kings Cross

Best Indie Film

The River of Love

Directed by: Akash Khurana

Honorable Mention Short


Directed by: David Tarleton


bottom of page