top of page

Award Winners of Chicago Indie Film Awards

It is with great pleasure for us to announce the latest winners of Chicago Indie Film Awards. The monthly edition of the festival has focused on arthouse indie film projects of all genres from all over the world. The festival has created a unique structure to support, promote and recognize independent artists in various categories of each edition. Chicago is an important city when it comes to filmmaking and it is important to have an indie festival for U.S. and international filmmakers in Chicago.

Best Narrative Feature: After the Night with Valerie

Dir: Alex M. Garnett

Best Narrative Short: Rules to Rule

Dir: G.C. Montgomery

Best Documentary Feature:

Sleeping Warrior

Dir: Janet Wells, Mwaura Timothy

Best Documentary short:

The Lens and Memory

Dir: Rubén Montiel Mendoza

Best Experimental:

Melody of War

Dir: Nadia Kal

Best Animation:

King of the House

Dir: Zige Zhang

Best Science Fiction:

Fantasy of Companionship between Human and Inanimate

Dir: Susan Lim, Samudra Kajal Saikia, Christina Teenz Tan

Best Horror:

The Disturbance Call

Dir: Gregory Fisco, Lucas Lopez

Best Director:

Raúl Koler, Emiliano Sette Anacronte

Best Producer:


Dir: Craig Huckerby


The Conservationist

Cinematographer: Blaine Dunkley

Best Editor:

Edward Moreno for THE STOOGE

Best Actress:

Ashlynn Hideman for Until Our Last Breath

Best Actor:

Rasheed Stephens for Between Forever

Best Script:

The Great Hunger

Writer: Paul G. Andrews, Thomas Keneally, Meg Keneally, Roland Joffé

Best Unproduced script:


Writer: Susan Klos

Best TV Series/Pilot/Web:


Dir: Sam Jacks

Best Comedy:

Therapist of the dead

Dir: Aleks Alifirenko Jr

Best Student Film:

As We Are Planted

Dir: Anna Lee Ackermann

Best Music Video:

Andreas Wolff-Solo

Dir: Sion R. Joseph

Best Thriller:

The dark side of the wall

Dir: Tiburce

Best Trailer:

The Brazilian Templars Mystery

Dir: Next Anyextee, Neil Cabana

Best Composer:

Women Warriors: The Voices of Change

Composers: Nathalie Bonin, Miriam Cutler, Anne-Kathrin Dern, Isolde Fair, Sharon Farber, Penka Kouneva, Starr Parodi and Lolita Ritmanis.

Best First Time Filmmaker:


Dir: Catherine Dao

Best Female Filmmaker:

Losing Grace

Dir: Athena Mandis

Best Indie Film:

Odota Minua

Dir: Patrick Shannon

bottom of page