top of page

15th edition of Chicago Indie Film Awards

The winners of the 15th edition of the Chicago Indie Film Awards were announced today. The festival recognizes and promotes fiction, documentary, experimental, animation, comedy and all genres of filmmaking and screenwriting which can inspire us, challenge us and make us think. U.S. and international projects compete together in various sections of the festival. The Chicago Indie Film Awards is committed to indie filmmaking and the language of cinema as an art form. The mission of the fest is to inspire & motivate people to discover the world through the art of motion pictures and indie filmmaking.

Please check out the full list of the winners:

Best Narrative Short

The Rock in the Sea

Director: Niall Duffy

Best Documentary Feature

The Captain's Heart

Director: Simon Bang

Best Documentary short

In Bloom

Director: Ashley Davidson

Best Experimental


Director: Michael Nicle

Best Animation


Director: Lin Tam

Best Science Fiction

Sights Unseen

Director: Jesse Terrell

Best Horror

The House Across the Bridge

Director: Kohl V Bladen

Best Director

Luke McCain, Ryan Knight

A Nursery Rhyme

Best Producer

Harrison Kraft

Drug Rider

Best Cinematography

David P. Crews

A Circle in the Desert

Best Editor

Kelly Morris

Real Fur

Best Actress

Maddy Murphy

Miss Freelance

Best Actor

Kenny Tiller

Art of the Hustle

Best Script


Writer: Jeremy Spencer

Best Unproduced script

Writer: Burke E. Sage

Because of Charlie

Best TV Series/Pilot/Web


Director: Chris Roberti

Best Comedy

What If I Were You

Director: Brian Adam Kline

Best Student Film

Here For Now

Director: Kailee Goodine

Best Music Video

Dust on Pebble

Director: Vincent NAFFRÉCHOUX

Best Trailer

We Are Our Totem: A Native American Tale

Director: Mivon Prince-Leyva

Best Composer

Artashes Kartalyan

The American Good Samaritans

Best First-Time Filmmaker


Directors: Gracie Fojtik, Dinah Berkeley, Lily Harris

Best Female Filmmaker

Maria Warith Wade


Best Indie Film

Scream of the Soul

Director: Dominique Othenin-Girard


bottom of page